Spelling Bee

Gosh, it has been a long time since I have posted.  Sorry! So what has been going on lately? Well, I am preparing students for an English spelling bee. I  meet everyweek after classes to help them study the words. I have some very serious students who come all of the time. They like learning new vocabulary and they love looking at the pictures I’ve cut up from magazines. Books, magazines, and other reading materials are very scare and expensive here, so it is a treat for them.

On Wednesday, we are going to have our local competition. Then I will bring the winners (a girl and a boy) to Cotonou for a regional bee. The winner of the regional bee gets to go to Parakou for the national competition.  I hope that this will encourage students to take their work seriously and study more. A lot of students are so busy with chores (you try doing your laundry by hand!) that they don’t have a lot of time left over for things like studying. Plus, they haven’t been taught study skills. In our weekly meetings we went over how to make flashcards. They especially like playing memory!

I miss everyone and am looking forward to returning home this summer!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Spelling Bee

  1. Eliza Alden

    Hi Mrs. Guevin!!!!
    I am so glad that you updated your page!
    It sounds so cool to have a spelling bee! I am a good speller, but not good enough to enter a spelling bee!!
    Can’t wait for you to come home this summer!!!

    Love,
    Eliza 🙂

  2. Eliza Alden

    Hi!
    I am so glad that you updated your page!
    It sounds so cool to have a spelling bee! I am a good speller, but not good enough to enter a spelling bee!!
    Can’t wait for you to come home this summer!!!

    Love,
    Eliza

  3. oluwatoyin

    Email me and let’s talk. I organise spelling bee in nigeria.

Leave a Reply

