When will it start??

The “it” in the question would be the school year. School was originally slated to start in early September and has yet to get going. I finally got my teaching schedule last week, but I can’t start meeting with my new students because they haven’t been grouped into classes yet. If you visit my school right now, you would notice that desks aren’t out, classrooms haven’t been swept, and long lines of parents and students are quing up to enroll and pay the fees.

They also haven’t released the school calendar, so no one knows when they will have their spring break, etc. It is really difficult to make plans without a schedule. I, especially, like to know what is going to be happening, so I have a hard time being flexible and not knowing what will be next!

There are rumors that the teachers will be striking against the new curriculum. They are disgruntled because it is difficult to get the textbooks, even for teachers and nearly impossible for students. My copy is a copy of a copy of a copy and they have yet to make the final revision.

I hope you are all enjoying the fall weather!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “When will it start??

  1. Eliza Alden

    Hi Mrs Guevin!
    Sounds pretty busy over there in Africa! Just thought I’d check in and say hi!! I can’t believe that your school year has not started yet! You guys over there have to pay for school? That must be tough!!! Well, talk to you later!!

    Love,
    Eliza

  2. Eliza Alden

    Hi Mrs. Guevin!
    Has school started yet! I sure hope so! We here in Foxboro have been in school for almost 2 months! Do you guys have days like “Staff Development Days” in Benin? Do you guys get Thanksgiving off? We have one coming up on Tuesday! I am so excited! I will be able to sleep in!

    Well, talk to you later!
    I miss you a lot, and I can’t wait for you to come back home!

    Love,
    Eliza

  3. Eliza Alden

    Hi Mrs. Guevin!
    How is teaching going? How are your students? The middle school is so cool! I love being up there and having so much independence! We can just walk around the school by ourselves! The only time that we have to walk in a line is when we are going to lunch and recess!
    Talk to you later!

    Love,
    Eliza šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

