Getting Ready for Thanksgiving

So thanksgiving is approaching and I have been worried about whether or not I’ll be able to have some pumpkin pie. Luckily, Jeff found some pumpkins at the marche in cotonou and I did a test run.  I spent a good hour online trying to find instructions for how to actually prep the pumpkin. Usually, I just use that fabulous pumpking mush that comes so neatly packed in the Libby’s can. However, this time I winged it…. peeling and cubing the pumpkin then boiling it until tender and then using a fork (hey my tools are very low tech here!) I mushed it all.  By the time I had a pumpkin pie it smelled like the real thing. I think it needed more time in the dutch oven and a good dollop of ice cream wouldn’t hurt, but all in all not bad. So hopefully, I can improve upon it in time for Thanksgiving.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Getting Ready for Thanksgiving

  1. Hi Mrs.Guevin it’s Alexandra thanks for the post card you sent me!I hope you send me one back soon.

Leave a Reply

