Lokossa

I arrived in Lokossa Wednesday night. It was a two hour drive from Cotonou to Lokossa which is more centrally located. On the way here I saw a sign directing one to a place to see hippos! It is rainy season, so it rains several times a day, buckets and buckets at a time. It seems as if the clouds just open up and water pours out.

I am living with a Beninese family. The maman is very nice. She is a hair stylist and the house is attached to her shop. I am the 5th peace corps volunteer she has hosted.

For training they are teaching us French and about life in Benin. Everyone morning and evening I have classes at one of the high schools of “lycees” in the area. Since I don’t have time to load photos, I will try to describe the classroom. For the Igo folks, imagine the school at Sturbridge Village. At CG2 the room is very large and has slat windows (no glass or screens). There are bench style desks and the room can seat over 60 students with two students sharing a desk. There are two chalk boards and a table at the front of the room. That’s it. It is very different from the our classrooms in the states.

I miss everyone and hope to hear from you all!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Lokossa

  1. granadaman

    Rouldz avec les bon temps.:-) Nous sommes tres fiers de vous et votre mari.

  2. granadaman

    Cet-a-dire ROULEZ!

  3. Darian

    Hi Phoebe,
    I read your blog often and think it’s a great way to stay in touch!! Glad things are going well.
    Thank you for the nice card…I enjoyed working in your class with all it’s ups and downs 🙂
    Be safe!
    Darian

  4. Jenn

    I will never complain about our class sizes again…I promise!

  5. Cheryl

    Ditto! And, I will face the unpacking that awaits with a smile (but we’ll miss yours) ~ I’m enjoying your commentary…and making “connections”.

  6. Cheryl

    Perhaps those field trips to Sturbridge had greater importance than we ever suspected! I do hope you don’t have to do any wool dyeing.

    How long do you expect to be in Lokossa?

  7. meryl

    Sounds like this is right up your alley! I’m sure you’ll have the time of your life. Keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

